HOW CAN I HELP?
CRUELTY OR NEGLECT
To report a case of animal cruelty please fill out the online form Cruelty Report Form above.
Please contact Tulsa Police Department’s Animal Control unit at the non-emergency number (918) 596-9222 to report a dog locked in a hot car.
In Tulsa, please call 911 to report an unsecured dog traveling in the bed of an open pickup truck as an unsecured load moving violation. Outside of Tulsa, this may not be a moving violation. Please call your local police department’s non-emergency number. (Title 37 Tulsa Revised Traffic Code, Ch. 7. Equipment Requirements § 737. Unsecured Vehicle Loads)
Cruelty to animals is a crime. Oklahoma State Law requires food, water, shelter and veterinary care to prevent suffering. Failure to provide these basic necessities is a felony violation.
Severe animal neglect can cause incredible pain and suffering to an animal. Examples of neglect are starvation, dehydration, parasite infestations, allowing a collar to grow into an animal’s skin, inadequate shelter in extreme weather conditions, and failure to seek veterinary care when an animal needs medical attention.
Active cruelty implies malicious intent, where a person has deliberately and intentionally caused harm to an animal. In Oklahoma, it is against the law to mistreat, abuse, or neglect an animal. That includes a number of kinds of cruelty-to-animals offenses, including:
- Willful torture, or the killing or other destruction of an animal;
- Beating, maiming, or otherwise injuring an animal;
- Depriving any animal of food, water, shelter, or veterinary care necessary to prevent suffering;
- Causing, or participating in any way, or permitting an animal to be beaten, injured, tortured, destroyed, or killed;
- Starting or participating in any act of cruelty to any animal.
Oklahoma Statute title 21 § 1685 PENALTIES Penalties vary according to the statute violated. In general, cruelty to animals in Oklahoma is a felony crime punishable by up to five years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. Oklahoma Statute title 21 § 168 Misdemeanors are punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $500. Oklahoma Statute title 21 § 1692.8